Bury Town: Factfile

Bury Town Football Club is a football club based in Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, who currently compete in the Isthmian League North Division. Bury Town is one of the oldest football clubs in the country, having been originally founded back in 1872 by William Lake during a meeting at the Suffolk Hotel in the same year. At that time, they were known as Bury St Edmunds Football Club, which lasted until a name change to Bury United in 1908, before settling on their current club name in 1923. 


Russell Ward is the current Chairman of Bury Town, whose first team is currently managed by Ben Chenery. Chenery came up through the ranks at Ipswich Town during his playing days before having spells in the Football League with Luton Town and Cambridge United, before making 169 appearances for Canvey Island. He has been in charge at Bury since July 2014. In their early history, Bury became founder members of the Suffolk FA back in 1885 alongside 11 other clubs, doing so 13 years after they had initially formed. Bury has played in a royal blue strip ever since forming.


Nicknamed the ‘Blues’, Bury have enjoyed success over the course of their history, winning both the Suffolk Premier Cup and Suffolk Senior Cup a combined 17 times in their history, winning the former most recently in 2014. They began playing their home games at Kings Road, also known as the Cemetery Ground in 1888, and remained there until 30 April 1976, where they played their final game at the ground against a West Ham United XI, drawing 2-2 in front of 1,750 supporters. After 12 months at a temporary ground, Bury then moved into their current home Ram Meadow in 1977, which holds a maximum capacity of 3,500 supporters, 300 of which are seated. The Blues have twice made it to the first round of the FA Cup in their history, doing so in 1969 and 2009. In 1969, they faced Bournemouth at home and held them to a 0-0 draw before losing a replay 3-0 at Dean Court, while the class of 2009 were beaten 4-2 away to Conference North side Alfreton Town.

Bury Town Honours

Isthmian League

  • League Cup winners 2011–12

Southern League

  • Division One Midlands champions 2009–10

Eastern Counties League

  • Champions 1963–64
  • League Cup winners 1961–62, 1963–64

Metropolitan League

  • Champions 1965–66, 1968–69
  • League Cup winners 1967–68
  • Professional Cup winners 1965–66

Suffolk Premier Cup

  • Winners 1958–59, 1959–60, 1960–61, 1961–62, 1963–64, 1964–65, 1970–71, 1977–78, 1995–96, 2010–11, 2012–13, 2013–14

Suffolk Senior Cup

  • Winners 1936–37, 1937–38, 1938–39, 1944–45, 1984–85.


Bury Town Records


  • Most appearances: Dick Rayner – 610 appearances in 12 seasons
  • Most goals: Doug Tooley – 251 goals in 9 seasons
  • Record transfer fee received: £5,500 for Simon Milton from Ipswich Town
  • Record transfer fee paid: £1,500 for Mitchel Springett to Chelmsford City

Go to Squawka for all your football news.